20
Oct
09

The Hollywood Reporter: Chris Weitz On New Moon

The Hollywood Reporter has a new interview with Chris where he talks about New Moon, working with SM, and more.

3038zdf

lol I love the illustration! xD

The Hollywood Reporter: Why did you want to do a “Twilight” movie?

Chris Weitz: The tonality of the movie, which has a lot to do with heartbreak and longing, depression and reunion and ecstasy — these were emotions that struck a chord in me. I really loved the cast; Kristen (Stewart) and Rob (Pattinson) both are exceptionally talented. And I wanted to get my hand back in the game. There were a lot of things in this movie that I knew how to do: A combination of telling a character-based story but also handling special effects and working with young actors.

THR: How much did you interact with Stephenie Meyer?

Weitz: A lot; we’ve had a real good collaboration. Crucially, she approved me as director, and she didn’t have to. We had some discussions that were very important — my convincing her that I didn’t want to take her baby and run away with it, or tell a story that was counter to the spirit of what she was trying to tell. I see myself, in the last few movies I’ve done, as adapting literary properties into film, so that’s how I treated this one. We got along like a house on fire.

THR: How much do you interact with the Twi-hards?

Weitz: Quite a bit. I don’t have an online, direct relation with the fans; I was too busy making the movie. But I sort of feel as though every bit of footage I get out is speaking to the fans in a way. I’ve only addressed the fans directly twice: At the very beginning, when I said, “Don’t worry, I’m going to take care of this book,” and then to address an insane rumor that all the Volturi were naked in their introductory scene. But I listened to what they have to say by checking in on the Internet. I didn’t do it that much while we were shooting because I didn’t want to get swayed one way or another; it would be like a politician just going by the polls. But now that the footage is complete, I kind of enjoy just checking in various sites and seeing what they like.

Read the entire interview HERE!

0 Responses to “The Hollywood Reporter: Chris Weitz On New Moon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

